What is your “something”?

Today was the first day of Lent.  For my students who are unfamiliar with Lent, in the Christian religions, it is the forty-day period before Easter. It began today, Ash Wednesday, and ends on April 23rd, which is the day before Easter.  Some people choose to sacrifice something of great importance to them during this time, and my “something” was Diet Coke.  I know.  I hear the sharp intake of breath because you KNOW how much I love Diet Coke.  Was the day difficult for me?  About 12:30 was probably the hardest for me because the caffeine withdraw set in, and I missed the tingling feeling the bubbles give me on the back of my throat.  I had to settle for Excedrin for the headache and Sprite for the bubbles.  *Sigh*  I got through it though, and now I am wondering, “Why have I been placing so much importance on what I drink?” It isn’t really healthy for me, so I shouldn’t have been drinking it anyway.  I figure if I can go 40 days without Diet Coke, I probably should not start drinking it again anyway.  What’s wrong with good ole’ fashion water?

So anyway,what is your something?  What is that one thing you love, but it really may not be that important in the big scheme of things? 

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What is your “something”?

  1. Alejandra C. says:

    Nop. Its sonly during lent.

  2. Alejandra,

    Is this only during Lent, or do you sacrifice meat all the time?

  3. Alejandra C. says:

    As a patr of our (hispanics) tradition we have to sacrifise meat on fridays. It really sucks because i lOVE meat, but i guess having shrimp cocktail, or lobster isnt that bad either. I just hope that i dont forget one of these fridays and eat peperroni pizza at school D:

Comments are closed.