Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent. ~Eleanor Roosevelt

Be You!

Have you ever realized how often you put yourself down? How hard you are on yourself? Here is a question for you to ponder:

If you had a friend who spoke to you in the same way that you sometimes speak to yourself, how long would you allow that person to be friends with you?

I know I, for one, am someone who is extremely hard on myself. I look in the mirror and see imperfections, I look at work I’ve done and tell myself it isn’t very good, I always feel like I could be a better mom, a better teacher, a better student, a better friend, and the list goes on, and on, and on. When I saw this question (the one above), I started to realize if I had a “friend” who always told me the same things I tell myself, I would drop them in a hot minute. Wouldn’t you? Would we really consider that person a friend? I doubt it, so the next time you are being really hard on yourself, remember to tell the negative “friend” in your head to “skcrimp”!

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Something to think about and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nobody can make you feel inferior without your consent. ~Eleanor Roosevelt

  1. Zack N. says:

    They would not be my friend very long I’ll tell you that. I sometimes really don’t give myself as much credit as I should, but I don’t do that because it makes me feel like I’m bragging about myself. I also hate it when my parents do that as well.

  2. Alejandra C. says:

    Aww. This picture is really cute. Sometimes being hard on yourself can bring you alot of stress. Hopefully your day off made you feel sort of better. (:

Comments are closed.