13 Reasons why you should read “TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY”

I told you I would let you know when I was finished with the book, “TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY” by Jay Asher.  I must admit to finishing it yesterday, but I just didn’t have it in me to put something together.  I wanted some time to let the full effect of the book simmer.  It was, to say the very least, phenomenal which brings me to the 13 reasons why you should read this book.

1. The layout of the book is different and innovative.  The book is not written by chapters; it is written by sides of the tapes.

2. You are constantly wondering how all of the people Hannah is talking about connect with one another.

3. The book is written “after the fact”.  You already know Hannah is dead, but you get to hear her story through the tapes.

4. You also get to hear the story from 2 sides – Clay and Hannah – giving the story an additional edge.

5. The subject matter is very relevant to teenage life.  The issues it deals with are issues all teenagers face at some time or another.

6. The novel is packed with suspense.  It is very much like a mystery/thriller, and I had trouble putting it down and even found myself reading as I brushed my teeth, at lunch, and even sitting at stop lights!

7. It isn’t a very long book – very doable for those of you who hate “books with too many pages”.

8. Much like movies you continue to think about for days afterwards, “TH1RTEEN R3ASONS” will do the same.

9. You truly come to like Clay Jensen, and as he works his way through the tapes, you share his feelings of pain, sadness, anger, and helplessness.

10. For those of you who are tired of vampires and zombies, this is the book for you.

11. If you have ever felt like Hannah, the lesson is there – reach out to others around you.  Don’t go through it alone.

12. The biggest lesson of all?  Words and actions may seem small to you, but they can make a huge difference to someone else, and I mean this both in the good way and in the bad way.  You will have to read the book to see what I mean.

13.  The biggest reason of all to read “TH1RTEEN R3ASONS WHY” ?  The movie will be out, and as you know, the movie is never as good as the book.

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.