October 21st – “Step Away from the Candy!”

photo by DevianArt

Halloween is coming up. Ooodles of candy are going to be eaten. Now imagine you are a piece of candy, and you are facing the mouth and teeth of a trick-or-treater. You must convince the child you should not be eaten but should be saved. Remember, effective persuasion uses examples and details. Don’t be afraid to use sensory details to describe the taste, smell, texture, and what you might look like to help support your position. Be creative!

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Creativity, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to October 21st – “Step Away from the Candy!”

  1. destinee s. says:

    Delicious twix chocolate. I’m kinda proud for who i am. But sometime i do not enjoy being a candy because kids try to eat me. Then some of these kids don’t brush their teeth. Next it make me want to say go and brush your teeth. What I think is that yall should not be eating candy because its not healthy for your or your teeth. So when you go back to the dentist they are going to know you ate me. PLEASE DON”T eat me im begging you UGH awe men here we go THESE KIDS UGH!!!!…..

  2. Danette T. 7 says:

    Delicious. Hershey. Choclate. I’m pretty proud of who I am. Being a candy is not easy. I often run into alot of situations where alot of little kids try to eat me, and it’s not so easy convincing them not to. I think you shouldn’t eat me either. Well, think of this, how would you feel if someone tried to eat you? Wouldn’t you want to live instead of dying by being eaten alive. It may not be easy for you to decide whether or not you should listen to me. Just think really hard about this: Would you want to be eaten, or would you prefer to live?

Comments are closed.