Is Ignorance Bliss?

Flowers for Algernon/Charly

We have now read Flowers for Algernon and seen the movie Charly.  We watched Charlie’s transformation through some phenomenal acting by Cliff Robertson.  I wonder now how you feel about the surgery Charlie underwent.  Knowing what you know about the final outcome, would you have had the surgery only to go back to your former self?  Would it have been worth it for those brief few months to experience everything Charlie did?  Think for a moment of all the good and bad Charlie was subjected to during his months of transformation.  Decide whether or not you would have went through with the surgery knowing you would eventually regress to your former self.  Provide specific examples from the story to support your decision.

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Something to think about, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Is Ignorance Bliss?

  1. Gerardo R says:

    well If it would it have been me I would have done the surgery because I would have not like people making fun of me in the way I look like. I would have do it to because I like being smart. One other reason I may not have taken the surgery because I could have missed my memory. and I would not get it back again.

  2. fateh says:

    In my honest opinion, If I was in charlie’s position I would think of the alternitive way. I would not take this operation because I would think that my life would tear very slowly and soon i would be hopeless.

  3. Richard says:

    I wouldn’t like to go to the sugery like charlie did and i have a reason for that.my reason for that is i woudn’t like my life to go back and forth my life will be a disaster. i think i will be actin g different to other and one sudden i turn stupid i really dont won’t my life to be like that.Also i will not won’t to make ms.kinnian fel incomfotable around me. i will fell so dejected that is why i wouldn’t be like charlie

  4. diana p says:

    Ingnorace is a bliss.If i had the opportunity to have the same surgery that charlie had,i would of tooken it because not every gets the opportunity to get the surgery.And even though i would just last a little days or even months with being different and getting to be smart ,it would not matter to me because it would make me glad to be different even if im not going to last with it forlife, but its better to just give it a try and enjoy the surgery.

  5. jose says:

    I wouldn’t like to have the surgery that Charlie had. First of all it is not going to be worth it free or not the surgery is fake because am still going to go back to the way I use to be.If I take a surgey I would at least ask if the surgery was going to be perminent.On the other hand I would because I would like to be different.I would like to see the other people and students’ impression.

  6. MarissaC 6 says:

    Me personally would NOT have went through the surgery(knowing I would end up the way I first was).First of all, it would be a waste of time. Then, thinking I would get smarter, all my hopes would be given up because it had an expiration date.

Comments are closed.