Word of the Day #3

People’s Top 10 Favorite Words

#6: Serendipity

Definition:

luck that takes the form of finding valuable or pleasant things that are not looked for

Example:

“Old-time print journalists bemoan the absence of serendipity – the accidental discovery of stories that readers didn’t know they were interested in reading.” – L. Gordon Crovitz, Wall Street Journal, April 5, 2010

About the word:

In the mid-18th century, Sir Horace Walpole stumbled upon a Persian fairy tale called The Three Princes of Serendip (Serendip was the Persian name for the island now called Sri Lanka). The heroes of the story traveled about, making happy (and chance) discoveries. Walpole added the term to English in 1754.
About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Extra Credit, Stuff to Learn, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Word of the Day #3

  1. jalen d says:

    i found serendipity when i was checking my pockets so i can do the laundry

  2. jacob b says:

    I was very serendipity when i found my wallet with fourty dollars in it a couple of weeks back.

  3. I happen to love, love, love this word, or rather, the whole idea of the word. It isn’t the most intriguing word or anything, but after seeing “Serendipity” the movie, the word took on a whole new meaning. My boys probably won’t like the movie, it’s a romantic comedy afterall, but I’m a sappy romantic, so I love it. The trailer for the movie is below. You might get an understanding of the word through the preview.

  4. kennedy says:

    I had such good serendipity when I found my OMG for Mrs. Franklin’s class. I didn’t want silent lunch.

  5. Danette T. says:

    From the outside of Edwards Middle School, noone would know that it has serendipity of the teachers demeanor, and student creativity.

Comments are closed.