The End of Innocence

artwork by Amy Lindenberger and shown by CPSA International Exhibitions and Publications

We began reading The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne.  We met Bruno who is 9 years old and by all accounts very naive and innocent of the madness around him.  The first day in the new home he looks out the window and sees something that makes him feel “unsafe”.   Recall a time when you finally realized the world wasn’t the greatest place.  What happened?  Was it something small?  How did it make you feel?  Be sure to be descriptive, so we can understand your feelings at the time.

***Because we are doing a different type of warm-up this week, this journal will be for extra credit-15 points-but you must give a quality blog prompt.  Two to three sentences does NOT make a quality blog response.

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Extra Credit, Something to think about and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The End of Innocence

  1. jalen d says:

    2007 over drugs too) then the guy said ” No that’s not me” and the guy killed him. But, earlier last year i figured out that they killed the wrong guy any ways.

  2. jalen d says:

    Once when I felt like the world wasn’t the greatest place was in the summer of 2003. I remember what happened like it was yesterday. My family and I were living in East Atlanta(aka zone 6)and we were sitting on the porch talking and I remember my uncle was cracking jokes then we see this man walking down the street and after we saw him walking down the street he went into a driveway of somebody’s house. A few minutes later you here arguing and the man yelling ” I’M NOT JOE, THAT’S NOT ME” or something like that. Then out of nowhere the guy pools out a shot gun a kills the man in the middle of the street. Afterwords all you heard was cars driving super fast down the street and people yelling and you saw people running down the street. Later the cops finally came and they couldn’t find the man. Later the next day my family found the real details over the incident. What really happened is the guy went in the house to go get some crack cocaine and then they got into a argument over how much the guy should of paid then the guy said ” A you the guy Joe that owes Tony Moe money( tony moe was the drug dealer but he was killed in

  3. richard says:

    The reason I think the world is not a great place is there is so much of voilence. There was one day when i did’not live in america i live in haiti . That day was 1/12/11 and there was and earthquake. I was really scared and i thought i was going to die . My sisters go injured and my house broke down.That day i thought this world was a terrible . My family was scared of this earthqauke.I think this world is not the perfect place to be and this is my reason.

  4. Miracle D. says:

    Waking up in the morning, I walk into my mothers bedroom, and she says, “let me get you dressed because we have a very busy day today”. As she unbuckled me I jumped out the car ready to see the world, I had always imagined it the most wonderful place in the world but when I got out the car, it wasn’t what i was hoping for. It was scary, large people surrounding me, gum stuck to the ground, food and trash all over the place and the most scariest part was people bumping into me I was terrified. I almost wanted to cry but my mother told me she would always protect me, and that’s when I finally realized what the world was like.

  5. Tmcghee says:

    The reason I think the world is not agreat place is there is so much of voilence and hatetred. When 9/11 happened thats when i really hit me why would somebody hate somthing so bad that they would want to kill thousands of innocent people. That really made me feel unsafe in the world.

  6. Sweet tea says:

    A great way to did out that the world is not a great place is just opening up your textbook or just watch your local news. Like the civil rights movement the struggle between people not expecting anyone cause of their color. That’s sounds so dumb right? The killing of president JFK because one not agreeing with ones way of thinking. Watching the local news also never helps change mine and others minds. Mothers, fathers, daughters, sons, brother, and sisters are buried every minute of the day. Many counties are either building bigger or more jails now, when they should be building or expanding schools. But they are unable to cause people can’t use their knowledge and just make the right decisions for once. The decisions you make not only have an affect on you but on your town, community, state, and country, in how people look at you and judge.

  7. Damon H. says:

    The time I feel like the world was not the greatest place was when I had move down to Georgia. When I heared that we was moving down here, i was feel like i was going to be living in the country and have a lot of animals wondering around the street and stuff. I was mad because I had to make new friends and go to a new school. When i finally, moved to georgia, i didn’t like it because I was so use to a lot of traffic, alote of people wondering outside, and mad nosie at night but it was just so quiet and i didn’t like at all. I was start to get homesick and everything and i just want to go back home to New York.

Comments are closed.