Remembering Whitney

Whitney Houston

There are moments in a person’s life when an event happens that takes you rushing back to your childhood.  Today is one of those days for me.  Some of you may know that Whitney Houston has died – it’s all over the news.  I must be honest and say that in recent years I have not listened or paid much attention to news about Whitney.  I know that she has struggled with drugs in the past, and I always hoped she was overcoming whatever addictions she had – especially for her daughter, Bobbi Christina.  At the present time, there is no news as to how or why she died, but I can tell you the second I heard the news, images of my high school days came rushing back to me.  Whitney’s first hit came out in 1985 – I was a sophomore in high school.  My fondest memories are of my friends and I cruising around, stereo blaring, and singing, “I Wanna Dance With Somebody” at the top of our lungs.  Yes, we were quite a sight.  If you’ve ever seen the video, I can tell you in 1987 when the song came out, I was sporting big hair just like Whitney and some pretty colorful eye shadow just like her.  I wanted to BE Whitney Houston.  🙂  I have many, many great memories, and I won’t bore you with all of them, but I wanted to share one of her songs that really meant something to me when it came out because I thought it had the greatest message ever – love of oneself.  I hope you will take a minute and watch the video.  If you want a good laugh while you are listening, just imagine your crazy teacher – big hair, crazy makeup – holding her hairbrush upside down like a microphone and singing, “Greatest Love of All” in front of the mirror because I PROMISE you I did that.

The Greatest Love of All

In case you’ve never seen “I Wanna Dance With Someone”, here it is.

I Wanna Dance With Somebody

 

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remembering Whitney

  1. richard says:

    I don’t really know who Whitney Houston was but I knew that she was and amazing singer.I believe that Whitney was a great role model. I didn’t know why Whitney died but I think that she should of never died and my reason why is because that she was a great talented woman. she could sing really well.I heard that Whitney was a great actor . I heard that she was great and give her best in everything she have done. I have more of Whitney Houston and the news. I am really sad about Whitney pass.

  2. Tmcghee says:

    I dont really know about Whitney, but all that I am hearing about her is she was a great legend and role model to other performing artist. I dont really know how she died but people are saying that it was by natural cause. I am also hearing on the news from people who were close to her are saying that she had a great personality and she was funny and she was very spiritual. I also learned she was a actor. Now that I have really learned more about this tragic lost I am very sorry for her passing.

Comments are closed.