Past & Future You

I follow a blog called SoulPancake.  There I can find oodles of prompts and videos to make me say, “Hmmmm….”.  I found one today that I really loved and wanted to share it with you.  I have adapted it to meet my needs, but I must give credit to SoulPancake for the idea.

Imagine you could pick up a phone and talk to “Past You” and “Future You”.  What do you think you would say.  What would you tell your “Past You” about what you might have learned over the years.  And what about “Future You”?  One day you’ll look back on who you are at this very moment. How will your future self feel about what you are doing right now? Proud? Angry? Nostalgic?  Write two conversations you might have with yourself past and future selves.  This can be in conversation form, OR you can write it in letter form.  This is worth 20 points EXTRA CREDIT, so I expect some good quality writing and for you to put some serious thought into what you will say.  Spelling and punctuation count – no credit if this is missing.

About Ms. Burroughs

I teach 7th grade language arts at Edwards Middle School. I love anything to do with technology and using it in reading and writing. Learning shouldn't have to be boring nor should the job of teaching. "To me, education is a leading out of what is already there in the pupil's soul." ~ Muriel Spark
This entry was posted in Extra Credit, Something to think about and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Past & Future You

  1. Kellen M says:

    Dear Past, Man how can I start off with you. Boy, you been through H***. You had ups and downs, you struggled with math and reading, and you were distracted. But you changed and I would like to see you do better in the future.

    Dear Future, Man I can’t wait to see you. I hope you join college and pro
    basketball. I hope you find a lovely wife and possibly have kids. Remember dont take life for granted. Live life to the fullest.

  2. kennedy says:

    Future Kennedy. I always wonder what you will be like. What is your profession? Is your house big? Are you married? Are you still the tallest person ever. I don’t even know what to ask you. I just hope the best. Be safe, this world is cold.

  3. Tmcghee says:

    Dear past,
    I am glad you are gone you caused me a lot of pain over the years you made me miss a lot of information in school and now i have to catch up. Past I’m glad your gone because you made me witness my Auntie dying and my dad steping out on me.

    Dear future,
    I am glad you are ahead of me because I know you are planning something big like, going to high school and then college after that. Then the NBA! I hope you are planing to give me a beatiful wife also. I also want to thank you for getting my grades up.

    • TC,
      These are wonderful! While it is apparent the past may not have been the best, always remember we learn from our past. Our past makes us stronger, and I think you are a stronger and smarter person because of yours.

      Ms. B.

  4. sdyqwan says:

    Dear Past Dyqwan,
    What’s up Past Self? Man so much has been going on, like moving out of Indiana, and everything is starting to be difficult. Like you can’t get into any more trouble because they are very strict down here in Georgia. School is starting to get fun. You’re going to be on the football team and wrestling team. Accept that I was struggling in school kind of when I first started off I was kinda easily distracted, but now I’m paying more attention in school. How are you so far?
    Dear Future Dyqwan,
    There’s a lot I’m going through! Thanks for giving me the heads up on what’s going to be going on in the future. Right now I’m in seventh grade in science class acting bad. Thanks for the heads up, and I ‘m going try to do better. It’s nice to hear from you.

  5. Kennedy,

    This is very well written!! I love that you’ve reminded yourself that many people will come in and out of your life and “you never know what you have until it’s gone”. This is something we should all take to heart. Now tell me what you would say/ask “Future You”.

  6. kennedy says:

    Hey past Kennedy! Boy your going to go through a lot in the future, and getting to the future. You know that pretty long hair you have, your going to have to cut it. So enjoy it while you can. Are you having fun in New York? Well, we’re moving to Georgia. Rockdale County,Conyers to be exact! I want you to pay attention in school. You have the intellegence within you to make the grades. You’ll also have lots of people coming in and out of your life. You never know what you have until it’s gone. I know your parents may get on your nerves but remember, you love them. Be grateful for what you have.

Comments are closed.